Friedrich Wührer plays Schumann (Vox LP)


Sorry about the long hiatus from this blog. I certainly can’t claim to be among those severely affected by Hurricane Ike, which dealt the Texas gulf coast a strong dose of weather, and left it’s calling card in metro Houston as well, but it’s not been business as usual here, and won’t be for some time. As my schedule allows, I’ll try and get back to a regular pace with postings.

I will be posting a number of Vox recordings by pianist Friedrich Wührer. First up, this Schumann album, which features typically sturdy, idiomatic performances. Charm is not Wührer’s strong suit, but a no-nonsense musical sensibility, and pianism of a high order, which is self-effacing in some respects, but possesses much strength as well.

In my experience, mint-condition original pressings of these records aren’t easy to come by, so I’m pleased to present this dubbing from a flawless copy, from the collection of my friend Mike Gartz.

Schumann: Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6.
Schumann: Piano Sonata no. 3 in F Minor, op. 14

(
Concerto Without Orchestra)
Vox PL 8860

Recorded c. 1954

This entry was posted in Piano, Wührer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friedrich Wührer plays Schumann (Vox LP)

  1. Ray Pratt says:

    Neal: Many thanks for the Wuhrer Schubert Sonatas. I have wanted them for about 50 years.
    Having problems getting to the Wuhrer Schumann (Flac)at Mediafire and can’t seem to burn the Rapidshare Mp3 after 3 tries. Are you certain this is not faulty somehow?

    Love your site and thank you especially for keep alive Wuhrer’s memory.
    Ray Pratt
    Bozeman, Montana

  2. Claudio says:

    Thank you so much for such precious recordings of Wuhrer. But would you mind to reupload the piano sonata #3 to us once again since the link is expired…

  3. tatifan says:

    I’ll do that as soon as I get back home. I thought I had most of the files on my travel HD, but not this one.

Leave a Reply

