Paul Bazelaire, Isidore Philipp. Saint-Saëns Cello Sonata No. 1

I hadn’t intended to take a complete break from posting this summer, but that’s what ended up happening!  In any case, I’m trying a new home, for a variety of reasons.  Unfortunately the comments I’ve received recently at the usual “blogger” spot haven’t been transferred over here yet.  Sorry about that.

Meanwhile, just to get started again, here’s the other recording by cellist Paul Bazelaire and pianist Isidore Philipp mentioned in this recent post.  After mentioning to my friend Ward Marston that I had posted the incomplete (as recorded) Saint-Saëns 2nd Cello Sonata recording, he told me that he had a copy of the 1st!  So, during my recent visit, Ward dubbed the set for me, leaving the side joins for me to engineer.  So a big thank you to Ward!

Saint-Saëns: Cello Sonata No. 1 in C minor, op. 32,
Paul Bazelaire, cello,
Isidore Philipp, piano,
Recorded June 30, 1934
Pathé PAT12/14 (matrix CPTX 67/72)

Note: the booklet I have included scans of was designed for both this recording and the 1st Violin Sonata recording included in my previous post.  As far as I know, the three recordings with André Pascal and Paul Bazelaire are the only 78 era recordings by pianist Isidore Philipp (there is a Vox lp and several recordings from that time which were issued many years later).

This entry was posted in Bazelaire, Chamber, Phillip, Piano, Saint-Saëns. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paul Bazelaire, Isidore Philipp. Saint-Saëns Cello Sonata No. 1

  1. Pointe aux âmes says:

    great blog !!!!

  2. Pablo Varela says:

    Nice to see your new blog, yesterday I linked to mine.
    Thank you for share this extraordinary transfer, it’s sounds very beautiful.
    I have a little question, which program did you use to join sides? I have many recordings download from CHARM sound archive that I like to joined. Thank you in advance. Pablo.

  3. tatifan says:

    Pardon the rather technical response here……Since I’ve gone mostly Mac, I use a program called Wave Editor (http://www.audiofile-engineering.com/waveeditor/), which takes a bit of time to get used to, but allows really exact crossfades, which take very little time to execute….you can toggle the “new” side (or layer, as they call it) back and forth to get the timing just right (and can preview the results), but still fine tune the fade ins and outs (you don’t want too much of an area of “double” surface noise from both sides). Only after this is to your satisfaction do you “flatten” the edit into permanent form. I used to use Diamond Cut Audio’s DC 7 on my Windows setup, and while it has many nice features (I still use it for correcting gradual pitch drift), crossfades have to be guessed at as far as timing, and executed before one knows if it times out correctly. I’m not familiar with Pro Tools or Adobe Audition for this function, but would be curious if others have found crossfades easy to achieve by other means.

    Hope this helps, good luck, and thanks for stopping by!
    Neal

  4. Pablo Varela says:

    Thank you very much for your technical response. I use a large collection of diferent software to do my restorations, Sound Forge, Magix AudioCleaning Lab, Goldwave, Adobe Audition, Acoustica Premium, ClickRepair, but I don’t understand to much the DC7, I found it very dificult to use, or maybe I never found the proper settings to make good transfers. For join sides I tried with Acoustica Mixcraft, Adobe Audition and Magix Audio Cleaning Lab. As you can see I use Microsoft OS, Windows XP and Windows 7.
    It’s a pitty that this software you told me about is only for Mac OS because the technical information you give me and what I found in the web page seems to be perfect to me.
    Thank you again for the information and for the excelent transfers you share.
    Pablo.
    P.S: sorry my english, I usually speak in spanish.

  5. squirrel says:

    Brilliant! Glad to have Neal back in action. This post, like the prior Saint Saens “box” is super-super special and we’re lucky to have you!

  6. Agrippina says:

    Great!! Thank you :=)

Leave a Reply

